Jan Hanford, musician | musician | geek | links | contact | home |

Solo Piano:
Electronica (as Human Response):

24 Preludes for Solo Piano


Analog Archives 1

Analog Archives 2

Analog Archives 3

. . . Listen and download at Bandcamp . . .
Also available at all the major online download sites, e.g. iTunes, Amazon, eMusic, etc.

Licensing available via Magnatune.com:
- 24 Preludes for Solo Piano
- Delirious
- Survival
- Immortal
- Dreamer

My music can be heard in restaurants and shops thanks to MoodMixes.com

From Delirious to Dreamer: The Analog Archives

Sampling my vintage one-note-at-a-time Minimoog Model D allowed it to become polyphonic, making chords of analog filter sweeps and multi-voiced melody lines possible. The result is my album Delirious, a hybrid of digital and analog technology.

But that was not my first experience creating electronic music. Before samplers, before midi, before computers; it was me, my minimoog and my two Teac 4-tracks. Every note had to be performed live, every melody line played and overdubbed from beginning to end. There was no digital editing, no computers, no copy and paste. Difficult? Sure was, but I loved every minute of it.

The equipment I used at the time was:

    · Minimoog Model D
    · Crumar Performer
    · Wurlitzer Electronic Piano Model 100
    · Roland RE-201 Space Echo
    · Mu-tron Phasor II
    · MXR Flanger
    · Casiotone MT-45
    · Casio VL-1
    · Casio SK-1 (on "Distance" only)
    · Teac 4-track A3440
    · Teac 4-track A2340-SX

In the mid-1980's samplers became commonplace and in the early 1990's excellent, powerful sampling keyboards became affordable. Having spent so many years recording with a limited studio and multi-track tape, I found the sounds offered by keyboard samplers and the ease and power of sequencing irresistible.

However, what to do with all that old analog music I worked so hard creating? Every musician has huge reservations about letting the world hear anything they've done that isn't perfect. I decided that I love this music too much not to let it be heard, flaws and all.

I hope you enjoy listening to this music as much as I enjoyed creating it.

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23

I play all the instruments in this performance of Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 23.

Since I'm a pianist, I chose to use a sampling keyboard using digital samples of real orchestral instruments to create this recording. All the sounds are meant to imitate the original instrument. It was a wonderful opportunity to experience and explore the orchestral score and "play" these instruments. The results are surprisingly realistic.

It took me two months to record the individual parts, one line at at time. It was one of the most difficult musical challenges of my life and the most fun I've ever had at the keyboard.

Now available at Bandcamp!

Relax with a virtual glass of champagne and enjoy my Mozart Piano Concerto on my island in Second Life.